Healthy Nachos

I know, I know. “Healthy nachos” sounds like an oxymoron, but just take a look at these!

Healthy Nachos - Definitely NOT an Oxymoron

Healthy Nachos - Definitely NOT an Oxymoron

To healthify nachos, I started with a really good tortilla chip – Garden of Eatin’ Blue Chips. In addition to looking really cool and tasting delicious, they are made with organic, non genetically modified corn, and are baked rather than fried, which means fewer calories and a lot less fat – these chips only have 3 grams of saturated fat per serving. The black bean chips are good, too!

Then there was the question of what to put on top of the chips. I picked black beans, because they are yummy and have a ton of fiber. I added some cooked sweet corn. I sprinkled on some 2% sharp cheddar cheese and let it melt over the blue chips, beans, and corn in the oven. I decided I would pile on fresh tomatoes, red onions, red bell peppers, green onions, and jarred jalapeno peppers. I whipped up a batch of fresh guacamole (see previous post!) and got out the reduced-fat sour cream and Tobasco Chipotle Pepper Sauce. When it all came together, I snapped a few quick pictures and Aaron and I crunched our delicious, cheesy, colorful nachos while we watched Hell’s Kitchen (which we’re both crazy about).

Gooey Cheese, Crunchy Chips, Crisp Veggies

Gooey Cheese, Crunchy Chips, Crisp Veggies

Recipe (serves 2):

What you need:

  • Enough chips for two people, 2-3 big handfuls
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1/2 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup cooked yellow sweet corn
  • 3/4 cup 2% sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1 small tomato, diced
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup jarred jalapeno peppers, diced (optional)
  • Tobasco sauce, to taste (optional)
  • guacamole and reduced-fat sour cream, for serving

How to do it:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray. Spread the chips in a single layer on the foil. Distribute the black beans and corn evenly over the chips. Sprinkle the cheddar cheese on top of the chips, beans, and corn. Bake in the oven until the cheese is melted and the chips are warm. (Do not use fat free cheese – it doesn’t melt well!)
  2. Remove the nachos from the oven and place onto serving plates. Sprinkle the tomatoes, bell pepper, red onion, green onions, jalapeno peppers (if using) on top. Splash on the hot sauce (if using).
  3. Serve with fresh guacamole and reduced-fat sour cream on the side. Enjoy!
The View from Atop Mount Nacho

The View from Atop Mount Nacho

Extreme Cheese-and-Bean Close-up!

Extreme Cheese-and-Bean Close-up

Pigeon desperately wanted to sample the nachos. While Aaron and I were sympathetic to her plight, we gently explained to her that nachos are not kitty food. Pigeon did not take the news well.

grumpypigeonShe grumped in her cat cube.

Pigeon might not be able to have nachos… but you can! And I hope you will! Soon!

Notice for Readers: Aaron and I will be going out of town for a week starting tomorrow (August 8th). We’re going to the North Carolina Outer Banks to vacation in a fancy beach house with Aaron’s family. I’m bringing my camera and plan to take a ton of food pictures, and I am 90% sure I’ll be able to update from the beach house. But, just in case I am not able to post, please don’t think I have fallen off the face of the earth. Simply expect a flood of posts in about a week. :)

10 responses to “Healthy Nachos

  1. Thanks for vsiting our blog, just loved your nachos.

  2. I loved the homemade guac, and seeing it in its full delicious glory on nachos… ah… it brings a tear to my eye. Great choice on the blue corn, it really contrasts with the colorful ingredients and makes everything just glow! Sorry, Pigeon… our dog gets moody too when we eat the good noms and it’s just kibble for her.

  3. Looks hearty and delicious!

  4. Pingback: It was a good week! | Our Green Spot

  5. These are delish! I used fresh hot peppers of all sorts, and I like cilantro for that truly Southern tang. Thanks for posting!

  6. Pingback: Monday Night Dinner: Healthy Nachos « redhotcookinmama

  7. I came across this recipe through Google and made them recently for a bachelorhood inspired dinner! Great idea, thank you for sharing!!

  8. Yum! Next time I think you should cook Pigeon. :)

Leave a Reply

