Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

That little slow cooker I got a couple of weeks ago has been amazing! A couple of nights ago, I made a delicious turkey chili with beans in it. It looked like this:

turkeychili

Bubbly Bowl of Yumness

It consisted of ground turkey breast, tomatoes, kidney beans, black beans, onions, green peppers, chili powder, and smoked paprika. I also added some corn kernels – I don’t know if it’s “proper” to put corn into chili (I know a lot of people have strong opinions about whether it’s okay to add beans, too!) but I like the taste and color. When Aaron and I ate our bowls of chili, we added 2% shredded cheddar cheese and some (okay, lots of) reduced-fat sour cream. I sprinkled a few green onions on top for color and crispycrunch.

Mmm... hot chili with cool sour cream.

Mmm... hot chili with cool sour cream.

To make the chili, I made up my own recipe as I went along.

Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe (makes 5-6 servings):

What you need:

  • 1 pound ground turkey breast
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (I like petite diced)
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels (optional)
  • 2 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp. cumin powder
  • 1 tsp. smoked paprika
  • splash of Tobasco sauce (to taste)
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • reduced-fat sour cream, cheese, diced green onions, tobasco sauce, and/or baked corn chips for serving

How to do it:

  1. Put the tomatoes, kidney beans, black beans, frozen corn kernels, and spices into the slow cooker.
  2. In a large nonstick skillet, sautee the peppers and onions in the canola oil on medium heat. When the onions are soft, add the ground turkey and continue to cook, breaking the turkey up into small chunks with a spatula or spoon. When the turkey is browned and cooked through, add the turkey, bell pepper, and onion mixture to the crock pot and stir to combine.
  3. Cook the chili on high for 3-4 hours or on low for 8 hours. Season with salt, pepper, and Tobasco to your taste.
  4. Serve the chili hot in bowls with cheese, sour cream, green onions, and corn chips (I used Garden of Eatin’ Black Bean Chips) as you wish.

This was another super cheap slow cooker meal. The turkey was about $3, the bell pepper $0.60, the red onion $0.75, the tomatoes $1, the beans $1, the corn $0.50, and the spices and seasonings maybe $0.50. That brings us to $7.35 for the whole pot. Divided by five servings, that’s $1.47 per serving. Add $1 or so for sour cream, cheese, chips, and green onions, and it’s still only $2.47 per serving. Not bad!

If you have lots of leftovers and are tired of eating this chili the same way every time, you could do what I did and make… nachos!

chilinachos1

Turkey Chili Nachos

To make the nachos, I just spread some baked Black Bean Chips on a foil-lined, cooking spray sprayed baking sheet and preheated my oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. I spooned the leftover chili on top of the chips and topped them with a handful of sharp cheddar cheese made with 2% milk. I baked the nachos in the hot oven until the cheese was melted and the chips were warm. Then I removed the nachos from the oven and happily crunched into them.

Melty cheese, crunchy chips, and spicy chili belong together.

Melty cheese, crunchy chips, and spicy chili belong together.

22 responses to “Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

  1. Oh-so-nommy post! What a delicious recipe you have! I can’t wait to pull our slow cooker out and get it rolling for the autumn/winter months. I love how chili gets better, days after it’s been cooked. If it’s on the thick side, I’ve spooned it into leftover pie crust dough and made little chili pockets for a quick lunch, or stuffed bell peppers or tomatoes with it for edible chili bowls. Love how versatile it is as a leftover!

    • We have been getting a little taste of fall recently. The past couple of days it has been rainy and cool, and I actually don’t mind the rain at all. It makes me that much more pleased to be inside, warm and dry, with a bowl of something warm and good. For whatever reason, it also makes my cat, Pigeon, a little more snuggle-tolerant than usual. Bring on the autumn!

      Ooh, I never thought of making chili pockets like that! Aaron would LOVE those. Thanks for the tip, WP. :D

      • Your chili inspired me to make some over the weekend. Ours was “mystery beer” chili because we had a bottle of mystery home brewed beer in the fridge that had lost its seal and was most likely flat — but still food-friendly. Now I want to get a big bag of chips and make nachos like in your post!!

  2. Totally off-topic, but I saw your note about PAX — I was there helping out the Runic Games team and I posted pics on my Facebook page. I didn’t know how else to send you the info, but you’re welcome to take a peek here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=118231&id=683177034&l=1f6e32acf3

  3. I can’t wait to use my slow cooker… The recipe sounds great!

  4. Wow, that looks great! So hearty and satisfying!

  5. I love the look of both interpretations of the turkey chili! Great for autumn and back to school!

  6. Nothing like chili in a cold weather. I will do the vegetarian version of this. My husband Loves nachos. Thanks for the post!

  7. Very beautiful photo. I love chili especially the spicy ones. There will be a chili cook off near my condo on the Sept 20th. I can’t wait. You should enter your chili for the cook off.

  8. Chili is a big favorite for me. So versatile! You can add almost anything to it. I love it with chipotle peppers. Great pictures!

    • Thanks, Kristi. :) I love the smoky flavor of chipotle in chili (and lots of other things!) too, so I used Tobasco chipotle pepper sauce. I can’t get enough of that stuff!

      Excellent point about adding anything to chili – I want to make a super veggie chili someday soon, with zucchini and carrots.

  9. I’ve been looking for a good chili recipe to make for football on Sundays– I’ve saved your version and can’t wait to try it out!

  10. Oh my, I’m drooling over these photos! I love your chili recipe – looks great!

  11. My husband and I just finished having this chili for dinner, and I had to sit down and comment right now because it was SO good. We both agreed that this recipe is going in the “keeper” file. My husband even said it reminds him of his mom’s homemade chili (and this was only partially homemade — the cans made it so easy!). I substituted a pound of ground bison for the turkey, since it too is a super lean and healthy, low cholesterol, meat, and we like the taste of it more than turkey. We added diced avocado and Greek yogurt (in place of sour cream) as toppings with the cheddar cheese, and crumbled some flax-tortilla chips into it — deeelish! Thanks for a great, easy, healthy, and inexpensive recipe.

  12. When you say 2 cans diced tomatoes, what size of can are you talking about? I’m in Canada and the cans here are generally 28 ounces, but in the US they are usually 15.5 ounces.

    Thanks in advance.

  13. Pingback: Slow Cooker Turkey Chili | The Taste Place

  14. Pingback: 73 Best Slow Cooker Recipes

Leave a Reply

