Homemade Guacamole

One day I was at the grocery store and I saw two women running around the produce department. One of them was on her cell phone. “Don’t you have any guacamole mix??” she asked. A pause. “Well, they don’t have any of the powder here. I know I said we’d have guacamole at the party, but how can I make it without any guacamole MIX?!” Easy. I wish I knew a way to tell them without sounding like an obnoxious little know-it-all, but I couldn’t figure out how to do that with them so stressed-out and angry-sounding, so… I’ll tell you guys instead. 😀

Homemade Guacamole

Homemade Guacamole - the bowl got a bit messy during the avocado-mashing stage, which is why in the recipe below I suggest using a large bowl. You'll have less problems with avocado escaping.

Recipe for Guacamole (Serves 2-4, depending on hunger!) :

You will need:

  • Two ripe avocados, seeded, peeled and diced (guide to picking ripe avocados here)
  • 1 small, fresh tomato, diced
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 Tbsp. sour cream (optional)
  • Potato masher
  • Salt, to taste

How to do it:

  1. Place diced avocados in a large bowl and add lime juice. Using the potato masher, mash the avocado until it is creamy. I like to leave some chunks, but feel free to mash to whatever consistency you prefer.
  2. Add the diced tomato and red onion and stir. Mix in the sour cream, if using. Add salt to taste.
  3. That’s it. You’re done! No “guacamole mix” needed. Enjoy!
Extreme Guacamole Close-up!

Extreme Guacamole Close-up!

2 responses to “Homemade Guacamole

  1. Guacamole seems simple and delicious, looking forward to trying it.

    • Hi, Usha. 🙂 Please do give it a try! It is indeed simple and delicious, and is especially good with lightly salted tortilla chips or on a sandwich. I love to eat it during the summer.

      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

