Brown Rice with Sugar Snap Peas, Cashews and Pineapple Teriyaki Sauce

Ah, it’s Monday again, and that means tomorrow is the big grocery shop day. I actually haven’t been to the grocery store since we got back, so it was pretty slim pickins in my kitchen. But I did have some instant brown rice, a bag of frozen sugar snap peas, a jar of roasted cashews, and a can of crushed pineapple, and with the addition of some soy sauce, honey, sesame oil, rice vinegar, and sriracha sauce, this is what I got:

Brown Rice with Sugar Snap Peas, Roasted Cashews, and Pineapple Teriyaki Sauce

Brown Rice with Sugar Snap Peas, Roasted Cashews, and Pineapple Teriyaki Sauce

I was feeling lazy tonight, so this influenced my cooking (which is also influencing my decision not to write a formal recipe!) – I threw the cup or so of instant rice into a pot with water and cooked it until there were about five minutes left, then added the frozen sugar snaps. While that was cooking, I mixed half of the small the can of crushed pineapple in a bowl with about 2 Tbsp. of soy sauce, 1 Tbsp. of rice vinegar, 1 Tbsp. of honey, 1 tsp. of the hot sriracha sauce, and a few drops of sesame oil. When the rice and peas were done cooking, I mixed in the pineapple teriyaki sauce, helped myself to a bowl, and topped it with roasted, lightly-salted cashews.

This was a really tasty dinner, considering the fact that I haven’t been to the grocery store in about two weeks!

20 responses to “Brown Rice with Sugar Snap Peas, Cashews and Pineapple Teriyaki Sauce

  1. Looks like a delicious rice bowl! I love your addition of pineappe teriyaki sauce. Great picture!

  2. Wow. Good for you to be so ingeniours! I love that you made master piece out of “slim picking”. Looks great. By the way congrats on Mohito top 9!

  3. I love making “macgyver” meals out of whatever’s in the pantry and fridge. It’s a nice way to be resourceful and rediscover how just a few ingredients are all one needs to make tasty things!

  4. Looks like you prepared that for weeks! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I would have never guessed the story behind that beautiful meal. I had to put something together really quickly for a dinner party and it turned out sooo yummy.

  6. Very creative thinking. It turned out very good too. It looks like you were planning to make it like this. Great job.

  7. What a flavorful and healthy dish. I will try this some time. 🙂

    • Thank you for visiting and commenting, Divina! It was very flavorful indeed – Aaron and I loved the bright pineapple and the spicy sriracha. Of course, we both love pretty much anything with sriracha sauce. 😀

  8. Congratulations on making the top 9 on FoodBuzz!

  9. I can’t believe this is just something you ‘threw’ together – it looks so yummy and carefully prepared! Gonna try this one 🙂

    Cheers

    Hungry Jenny x

    • Hi, Hungry Jenny! I find that some of my favorite meals are things that I just slapped together from whatever’s left in my kitchen at the end of the week. Maybe I should just start buying random ingredients when I do my grocery shop, rather than planning my meals. 😀

      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

