Spinach Salad with Avocado, Turkey, Swiss Cheese, and Tomatoes

Also known as “It’s too hot to cook!” dinner. The night before last, I wanted to eat something cool and refreshing, so I made a couple of salads for Aaron and me. I don’t know whether Aaron also felt like eating something cool and refreshing, but he eats what I make and always seems to enjoy it. This meal was no exception.

Spinach Salad with Avocado, Turkey, Swiss Cheese, and Tomatoes

Spinach Salad with Avocado, Turkey, Swiss Cheese, and Tomatoes

For each salad, I spent $0.50 for the avocado, $0.50 for the spinach, $0.25 for the tomato, $0.75 for the cheese and turkey, and $0.25 for the dressing, which was Newman’s Own Lighten Up Lime Vinaigrette (tastes amazing with avocado!).  That means this meal cost about $2.25 per person. Not bad!

I love avocado – it’s great on sandwiches, in sushi, in salads, and as guacamole. I could eat it every day and never get tired of the cool, buttery, avocado-y flavor. It’s also a food I like to include in my diet for health reasons. According to nutritiondata.com, one cup of avocado contains 25% of the recommended daily intake of vitamin C, 40% of the daily intake of fiber, 30% for folate, and 39% for vitamin K. Wikipedia states that, “Avocados also have 60% more potassium than bananas… [and] have the highest fiber content of any fruit.” So, you can always expect to find lots of avocados on my plates and on my blog. 🙂

Something interesting I’ve just noticed… I always write “avocados,” but wikionary.org says that “avocadoes” and even “avocadi” are both correct. I’m curious to see what you think, dear Reader.

Let me see if I am smart enough to figure out how to add a poll…

13 responses to “Spinach Salad with Avocado, Turkey, Swiss Cheese, and Tomatoes

  1. That looks very good! Especially for these “dawg days” of Summer 🙂

    I’m wondering how it would be with some seared sushi grade tuna as a substitute for the for the turkey?

    • I’m sure it would be excellent! It sounds like you must have some sushi grade tuna on hand. If that is the case, and if you do cook up something wonderful with it, send me a photo, willya?

  2. However you spell it avocados are one of my favorites, too! Love the lime vinaigrette dressing idea–

  3. Great flavors! I love the tuna idea! 🙂

  4. Amen to the no-cook meal. We just got through a wicked record-breaking few weeks of summer and we were hunting around for things to eat that didn’t require any heat sources. Even grilling outdoors was too much! Cheers to inexpensive meals made with ingenuity!

    • Yes, I’m always trying to find new ideas for no-cook meals in the summer. For a couple of weeks early this summer our air conditioning was broken, and because I live on the top floor of my apartment building it was even hotter inside than it was outside! Poor Pigeon was panting. I had to keep thinking of stuff to eat that didn’t involve ANY heat whatsoever.

      Last week, I was happy to find that the crock pot doesn’t heat up my kitchen very much at all – so I can still enjoy hot, hearty food in the summer. You can only eat so much cold stuff.

  5. in many places avcadi are not really cheap but yes sooo healthy and delicious, i ‘d eat them evry day an i am lucky that the coast okey where i live 🙂

  6. Boy does that look refreshing and delicious!

  7. oh p.s.
    I always spell it avocados myself … it looks weird the other spelled the other ways

Leave a Reply

