Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

On Saturday, Aaron’s family came from their hometown of Lynchburg, Virginia to visit us in Richmond – the occassion was that Aaron’s birthday is on Tuesday. After some goofing around at our apartment, we all went to Short Pump Town Center, which is an upscale shopping center in the west end of Richmond. It has a Williams-Sonoma. I went there and oohed and ahhed for a good while. I didn’t buy anything, though – keen observers will notice that the word “cheap” is in the title of my blog.

We ate lunch at a place called Firebirds Wood Fired Grill in the mall. I’ll go ahead and add a disclaimer that this meal was probably not the healthiest ever (it’s Aaron’s birthday, after all). But it was cheap, since it was a birthday thing for Aaron – it was free for both of us, in fact. And as I’ve said before, you can’t beat free. Thanks, Aaron’s mom and dad!

I actually forgot to bring my camera with me to the mall, so Aaron’s mum took these pictures with her fancy fancy camera. They turned out very nicely, especially considering that it was super dark in the restaurant. So, many thanks to our guest photographer!

Aaron’s mom ordered the baby back ribs, which came with fries, cider slaw, and a moist towelette.

Ribs, Slaw, and Fries

Ribs, Slaw, and Fries

Aaron and I both ordered the same thing. The turkey club came on jalapeno corn bread (not cornbread, but regular bread with corn and jalapenos!), smoked turkey, applewood bacon, cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, and roasted red pepper mayonnaise. The fries were crisp on the outside and fluffy and hot on the inside. I asked for a little of the red pepper mayo on the side to dip my fries into. I believe Aaron’s mom described the fries as “worth falling off the wagon for.” I assume she means the healthy eating wagon, or perhaps the french fry abstinence wagon. Either way, I agree, although today I’m right back on again. πŸ™‚

Those eager little hands clasped around the fork in the background belong to Aaron, who is probably thinking something like, "Please hurry up with the pictures and let me eat!"

Those eager little hands clasped around the fork in the background belong to Aaron, who is probably thinking something like, "Please hurry up with the pictures and let me eat!"

Aaron’s brother ordered the smokehouse chicken sandwich, which came with applewood bacon, barbeque sauce, shredded cheddar cheese, and red onions. He also got a nice pile of the yummy fries, of course. This is the only photo on this post that I took, since I was sitting next to the sandwich and its owner.

The Smokehouse Chicken Sandwich

The Smokehouse Chicken Sandwich

Aaron’s dad ordered the soup of the day (chicken tortilla with sour cream), and the Firebirds BLT salad, which came with roasted garlic ranch dressing. Aaron’s mom took this awesome action shot of our server grinding some fresh black pepper onto the salad. The service was excellent, by the way.

"Just say when!"

"Just say when!"

I think Aaron had a very tasty birthday lunch and a fun day at the fancypants mall. I know I did. πŸ˜€

2 responses to “Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

  1. It was a terrific lunch that I’ll be working off at the gym tomorrow! We had a great time visiting, eating and shopping! So glad you could use my photos! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

