Vegetable Curry

Another great way to use up whatever odds and ends are left in the kitchen at the end of the week is a nice big pot of curry! This week, I picked up a jar of Patak’s Hot Curry Paste to make my life a little easier.

Image from amazon.com

Image from amazon.com

And it worked! I chopped up potatoes and carrots and threw them into a hot pot with a little canola oil and sauteed them for a few minutes until they were starting to soften. Then I added several tablespoons of the yummy curry paste and a can of diced tomatoes. I cooked a pot of instant brown rice alongside the big pot of bubbling curry. I added my frozen green beans, frozen corn, and a can of chickpeas. When the potatoes were tender, I added the chopped broccoli florets and a few already-cooked leftover green peas and cooked the curry for another five minutes or so. Then I turned off the heat and added about half a bag of spinach and a bunch of chopped green onions, stirring it all together until the spinach wilted. Aaron and I ate the curry on top of the hot cooked brown rice.

Lots and Lots of Vegetables Curry!

Lots and Lots of Vegetables!

I loved eating this because there were so many different colors, flavors, and textures in the bowl, and it makes me feel good to eat a meal with so many different types of vegetables.

I took this picture shortly before I had the idea of adding a few tablespoons of plain nonfat yogurt and a sprinkle of cashew nuts to the top. The yogurt added a lovely creamy texture and a tangy flavor that matched the flavor of the curry nicely. Be careful when adding yogurt to anything that is hot and bubbly, however. It can curdle!

Extreme Curry Close-up!

Curry Close-up!

The verdict on the Patak’s Curry Paste is a big thumbs up. It is much easier than me attempting to understand the mysteries of Indian spices, and it tastes very good. Previously, I had either tried to season curries on my own, or bought a jar of Patak’s Cooking Sauce. A jar of the cooking sauce costs about $3.50 and contains enough for about 3-4 servings, but a jar of curry paste costs around $4.25 and contains enough for 10 servings. Since I find that the paste is more cost-effective, that is definitely what I will buy from now on.

12 responses to “Vegetable Curry

  1. YES. I love Patak’s — a wintertime staple! All their flavors are delicious. I stretch out the servings to about double by adding two cans of coconut milk, extra veggies/meat, and then a big handful of fresh cilantro right before serving — I let the slow cooker do the work. I love the yogurt idea! As a leftover, if it’s really soupy, I’ll pour it over a little dry couscous, microwave it, and let it soak up all the excess sauce. It just gets better the more days after it gets cooked!

    • The weather has been much cooler this week, a little bit of fall in the air. Perfect time for curry. 🙂

      Coconut milk would be great in this!

      You’re absolutely right about the leftovers. It definitely improved after spending the night in my fridge – I just had a bowl for lunch.

  2. Terrific vegetarian weeknight meal. I like Wasabi Prime’s idea of adding coconut milk too.

  3. im always up for a nice and simple home cooked meal. especially after work.

  4. Wow, I’ve always wanted to make curry but have just been too intimidated to try – looks looks so good though! I’m definitely keeping the recipe! Thanks!

  5. great, now I def want curry for dinner tonight!

  6. Mm, random leftover veg definitely has its home in a curry. I love the colours it creates too! I too am at the early stage of preferring to use Pataks jars and the like, rather than attempting to make my own pastes yet!

    Cheers

    Hungry Jenny x

  7. i usually cook curry with meat and chicken and it is usually simmers this is my first time,seeing vegetable curry and it is sauteing. Worth trying I think. Nice!

Leave a Reply

